Provisional Licenses in Maryland
Before Maryland drivers can know the freedom of the open road, they must first obtain an instruction permit and later a provisional license. Learn more about drivers license requirements in Maryland, including the various restrictions and procedures involved in the process.
What is an Instruction Permit?
A Maryland resident qualifies for an instruction permit at 15 years and nine months of age. He or she must submit an application, application fee, and proof of identification to the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) office for instruction permit approval. The application must be signed by a parent or guardian, and applicants under 16 years of age are required to provide a record of their private or public school attendance. If the applicant shows more than ten unexcused school absences on their record, the MVA can choose to deny the permit. The applicant must pass a vision exam and a written test that covers local traffic laws.
Once the MVA issues the permit, the driver is authorized to operate a vehicle only under the supervision of a qualified adult. Adults who qualify include those who are over 21 years old, and who has held a driver’s license for at least three years.
What is a Provisional License?
Maryland teens can apply for a provisional license when they turn 16 and a half years old. They must provide the following:
- A driving log showing 60 hours or more of completed supervised driving time. Ten of the hours must be completed at night, and a parent or guardian must sign the log book.
- Proof of completion of an approved driver’s education course. The certificate must show that the driver completed 30 hours of class time and six hours of driving time with a certified instructor.
The applicant must complete and pass the road test administered by the MVA. The road test commonly consists of a controlled driving setting, and tests the driver’s ability to adhere to basic traffic signs, complete a three-point turn, parallel park, and drive safely in reverse.
A driver with a provisional license can drive without an adult from 5 a.m. to 12 a.m. For the first half of the year holding a provisional license, drivers cannot transport any non-family member passenger under 18 years old without adult supervision. The MVA states that if new drivers break the provisional license restrictions, they run the risk of losing their license until the age of 18.
Have you committed a traffic violation while holding provisional driver’s license? Call LEVIN GANN P A Principal, Lee J. Eidelberg, a former Assistant State’s Attorney, today.
Contact LEVIN GANN P A
If you are seeking out the law firm that will serve you best, LEVIN GANN P A is here to help. With over a century of experience, we work closely with a wide client base to achieve success. We are not afraid to approach cases with reasonable aggressiveness and creativity. Our skilled attorneys do not believe any case is too big or too small to tackle. LEVIN GANN P A knows exactly how important it is that you obtain justice and fair compensation. Don’t wait–get your free consultation today.
Call 410-321-0600 for more information, and we will find the best solution together. To keep current with updates on both LEVIN GANN P A, as well as other legal matters, you can follow us on social media using our Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, LinkedIn, and Youtube.